skip to content

Dietary requirements

Some religions have dietary laws which prohibit certain foods, or the mixing of foods. For example, certain meats may be forbidden, such as pork (Judaism or Islam) or beef (Hinduism), or meat may be required to be prepared according to religious ritual and law, such as Kosher (Judaism) or Halal (Islam).

Separate cutlery and utensils may be required to ensure that milk and meat are not eaten together; or Halal meat is not stored or cooked with non-Halal meat; or kosher food stored or cooked with non-kosher food. For clarity and to avoid misunderstandings, it is advisable to find out the specific requirements of members of staff and to assess how these, where practicable, can be accommodated.

In planning and organising work events or social activities, managers or organisers should be mindful of colleagues' faith-based restrictions. This may mean providing non-alcoholic or vegetarian options or alternating the venues for work events so that they are sometimes held, for example, in places where alcohol is not served. Invitations to catered events should explicitly ask guests about any dietary restrictions, as this may be relevant for both reasons of religious observance or allergies.

What is appropriate and proportionate will depend on the specific circumstances, for example the specific needs of individuals with restrictions and the availability of alternatives. It is recognised that it may not always be possible to accommodate or adjust to meet the needs of every member of staff. However it is good practice to consider specific requirements and explain, where possible, the reason for a decision.